Main judge, Alice Oswald, has written six collections of poetry. Her most recent, Memorial, reworks Homer’s Iliad. Her first collection, The Thing in the Gap-Stone Stile (1996), won the Forward poetry prize for best first collection. In 2002, she won the TS Eliot prize for Dart, about the river in Devon. As well as judging entries for the Battered Moons Poetry Competition, Alice will also be presenting the prizes and giving a reading of her own work at the Swindon Festival of Poetry on Saturday 6th October.




         Memorial, Faber and Faber, 2011

Weeds and Wild Flowers, with drawings by Jessica Greenman, Faber and Faber, 2009

A Sleepwalk on the Severn, Faber and Faber, 2009

Woods etc., Faber and Faber, 2005

The Thunder Mutters: 101 Poems for the Planet, editor, Faber and Faber, 2005

Earth Has Not Any Thing to Shew More Fair: A Bicentennial Celebration of Wordsworth’s Sonnet Composed upon Westminster Bridge, co-editor with Peter Oswald and Robert Woof, Shakespeare’s Globe & The Wordsworth Trust, 2002

Dart, Faber and Faber2002

The Thing in the Gap-Stone Stile, Oxford University Press,1996


2009  Ted Hughes Award for New Work in Poetry, Weeds and Wild Flowers
2009  T. S Eliot Prize, Weeds and Wild Flowers, shortlist
2007  Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, Woods etc.
2007  Forward Poetry Prize (Best Single Poem),  ‘Dunt’
2005  T. S. Eliot Prize, Woods etc., shortlist
2005  Forward Poetry Prize (Best Poetry Collection of the Year), Woods etc., shortlist
2002  T. S. Eliot Prize, Dart
1997  T. S. Eliot Prize, The Thing in the Gap-Stone Stile, shortlist
1996  Forward Poetry Prize (Best First Collection), The Thing in the Gap-Stone Stile
1996  Arts Foundation Award for Poetry
1994  Eric Gregory Award